AFIcionados – Your Choice, Your Voice…

Now that the six nominees for the AFI Members’ Choice Award have been decided, we’ve been calling all AFI film aficionados* to submit a 200 word max response on why you thought these films were Australia’s best.

*aficionado – a person who likes, knows about, and appreciates a usually fervently pursued interest or activity.


In the countdown to the announcement of the winner of the AFI Members’ Choice Award this Sunday 15 January at the Samsung AACTA Awards Luncheon, presented by Digital Pictures, we will be profiling two of the six nominated films per week on our blog, along with the best member responses on why you voted for them. This week we’re profiling RED DOG and Snowtown.

Red Dog



“You’ve gotta love a tear-jerker, desert shots and a great underDOG story. RED DOG was the most fun I’ve had at the cinema in a long time!”
– AFI member Jason Rooney, WA.

RED DOG’s fresh and heartwarming take on what its like living in a small mining town in Western Australia has definitely caught the public’s imagination. I’d say there’s nothing like a cheeky kelpie to unite a nation!”
– AFI member Brendan Smythe, QLD.




Snowtown is heartbreaking and hopeless but absolutely captivating. I was glued to the screen. They were some of the most powerful and deeply disturbing performances I have ever seen. ”
– AFI member Rosie Piper, TAS.

“Australian arthouse cinema at its best! Snowtown is evocative, provocative and mind numbingly horrifying. It simultaneously entices and repels its audience by capturing in stunning detail every horrendous moment.”
– AFI member Lucy Fraser, VIC.

Thank you to all members who participated in our AFIcionado’s Audience Choice Award competition. Your responses have been invaluable.

**Conditions apply: in order to have your response published you need to be an active  AFI member and be willing to have your full name and state disclosed on the AFI Blog **
Thanks to Madman Entertainment and Roadshow Films for providing DVD copies of these films for our lucky winners!